Meet the Blogger

You may find the odd picture of me on the Soapbox, but even more odd is a picture that would make me recognizable if you saw me on the street.

Me & Alma hiking in Kananaskis

Me & Alma hiking in Kananaskis

That’s because, like most other pet bloggers, I’m usually behind the camera and focussed on the dogs for the blog. Sure, we write openly about our pets, our opinions, and our experiences, but we remain in the back ground often as secondary characters. We know a lot about each other, but the communication is pretty indirect.

For me, it’s pretty intentional. I don’t write this to be recognized. Unless I already know you, I’m very uninterested in being approached by strangers on the street. This may sound like a delusional worry, but I once wore an Actions Speak Louder t-shirt to a recreational dogdeball game with friends and someone on the opposing team said “Hey! Are you Jen K from Back Alley Soapbox?!” and it totally freaked me out. (I’m a pretty strong introvert, as you may have recently read.)

But, when I heard about the Meet the Bloggers day, I thought it was a great idea and am looking forward to meeting the other bloggers behind their pets that I read about so often. And it seemed unfair to just creep on their posts without participating myself.

The rules of the hop are to post a photo and answer some questions about yourself.

So here we go.

Hey, I’m Jen. With one N because I don’t like superfluous consonants. Nice to meet you!

Who needs a pool when you've got a canoe?

Who needs a pool when you’ve got a canoe?

Ohhhh… a RECENT picture. Gotcha.

In a pinch, turn to the selfie

In a pinch, turn to the selfie

Now that the pictures taken care of, here come the questions.

Jen & Moses selfie

Jen & Moses selfie

Question 1: What’s your favourite (non-animal related) movie?

I don’t have one favourite movie – I have 23. I’m talking about the James Bond franchise. I am a total nerd for Bond films and will defend Roger Moore as the best Bond to all who challenge me. Daniel Craig is earning his spot as a close second place. But c’mon, Moore is in some of the best movies: The Man With the Golden Gun, Live and Let Die. But Skyfall was pretty great, too, and I cannot wait for the next one in October 2015.

Guys! I met Jay Ingram this summer! (I'm just a nerd in general.)

Guys! I met Jay Ingram this summer! (I’m just a nerd in general.)

Question 2: What do you like to do in your free time?

Aside from walking the dogs and blogging, scuba diving has also shown up here on the Soapbox a couple of times. We don’t get out as much as we like, and the June floods put a dent in local diving this year, but the Husband and I have been able to get away to places like Hawaii, Cuba, Costa Rica, and Victoria, BC to dive. Our favourite place so far has definitely been Bonaire – of course, there was a hurricane that cut into our diving when we went, so we’d definitely like to go back!

Me, diving on the Hilma Hooker wreck in Bonaire

Me, diving on the Hilma Hooker wreck in Bonaire back in 2008

Question 3: What’s your favourite (non-animal related) book?

A favourite book is hard to pin down, but when pressed, I would have to say Persuasion by Jane Austen. I recently got myself an awesome scarf with text from the book from Etsy. But even though I love the classics, I’ll pretty much read anything. Except fantasy. That’s just not my preference. It took me forever to get through the Hobbit.

Check out the awesome Etsy shop storiarts

Check out the awesome Etsy shop storiarts for scarves with all sorts of classics displayed.

Question 4: What’s your favourite meal?

Well, it’s certainly not anything I make myself because I can’t cook. Well, I can, but I don’t particularly enjoy it and it never turns out better than mediocre. Baking, I enjoy and execute successfully, but I have no creativity when it comes to cooking and I have to follow recipes precisely. Good thing the Husband makes up for my deficiencies in that area; he’s got this incredible skill to be able to just look in our fridge and cupboards and come up with something delicious.

The whole family

The whole family (from last year’s Christmas card)

But, if you’re looking for where to eat out in Calgary, I’m happy to provide great recommendations! Today my Top 5 favourites in the city are (in no particular order, thus alphabetically): BrasserieCatchFarmFleur de Sel, and Una.

Snow faces on the dogs vs. me. I think they carry it better (and are happier about it, too!)

Snow faces on the dogs vs. me. I think they carry it better (and are happier about it, too!)

Question 5: What’s your favourite most recent holiday?

Last month I went to Las Vegas for a few days with a group of awesome girls who I’ve known for 20 years. We’re spread around Alberta now, but we all turned 30 this year and had to celebrate! We had some delicious food and drink and we saw Tim Allen do some stand-up. Does it get much better than that? I don’t think so, Tim!

A bunch of pasty Canadians in Vegas

A bunch of pasty Canadians in Vegas

Well, that’s enough about me. Go meet everyone else!

This Meet the Blogger Blog Hop has 13 – yes, thirteen – co-hosts! To meet the hosts and other bloggers, visit them:

We've created the 'delfie' - a selfie at the Hoover Dam

We’ve created the ‘delfie’ – a selfie at the Hoover Dam

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

40 Responses to Meet the Blogger

  1. Mel says:

    I love all the pictures! You are beautiful!

    I have to agree with the whole “being recognized” thing. I am really uncomfortable with it as well (and I’m an extrovert!). I had one reader approach me at a Sheltie reunion and give me a Cupcake token for a bracelet. I was so touched, but also felt a little weird getting a gift from a stranger who reads my blog.

    I think we can pretty much agree our movie choices differ. LOL!

    I think it is so cool that you scuba dive. I had no idea!

    Absolutely love your book choice and your picture of you and Alma and the one with both dogs and your husband. You live in such a beautiful area. I am completely jealous.

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    Nice to learn a little more about you. Beautiful pictures as always. Love Jane Austen but I also liked The Hobbit. 🙂

  3. Hi nice to meet you. Confirmed introvert here too – have to go read that post of yours. Great photos – especially the snow faces!

  4. Rachael says:

    Lovely pictures- was so nice to read about you and come across your blog because of this blog hop! Can’t wait to read more about you:) Really love your Christmas picture from last year x

  5. Great learning about another dog loving Canadian! Fantastic photos too! Nice to meet you and your blog.
    Maggie

  6. I love the snowy photo with you and the dogs. It’s great to learn more about you. And yep….cooking is no fun but baking I can do.

  7. Kelley says:

    Your pictures are awesome!

    I’m a big James Bond film fan too. One summer my boys (10 and 14 at the time) and I watched all 20 films from Dr. No to Die Another Day — in order, with commentary. THEN we wrote a paper on it. I am either the coolest mom or the cruelest mom ever, depending on who you ask.

  8. Pup fan says:

    So excited that you joined the hop! I was a little nervous about it too – I’ve always been pretty careful about keeping myself OFF the blog, so I can relate. I love learning about my favorite bloggers, however, and I really enjoyed getting to know you a little better.

    I think it’s so cool that you scuba dive. It’s something I’ve always been fascinated by, but scared of. (I’m not a great swimmer.)

    I’m totally checking out those scarves now. So cute!

  9. What a great post! I love all the photos, and love seeing your amazing dogs. I love blog hops for discovering new blogs like your’s. Adding to my bloglovin!

  10. Jodi says:

    Oh it’s fun to finally put a face to a name, you went all out there too! Yay for you! I know what you mean about being recognized. I went to a fundraiser once and when I was introduced as “Jodi” there person said, “Jodi Stone?” I had a little burst of panic rise up in my chest and didn’t know how to act! LOL

    I love baking too, but I’m also one of those peeps who can throw something together, it might not taste fabulous, but it’s edible.

    Thanks for joining the hop!

  11. Jessica says:

    Persuasion was on my long list, too. Now I’ll imagine us sitting down with coffee, mocking people who prefer Pride and Prejudice. ❤

    I don't think I get enough blog readers to be recognized. I hope not, anyway.

  12. Your photographs are stunning. You should definitely appear in your blog more often. And not just hiding behind Moses and Alma. 🙂

    I used to think scuba diving was the scariest thing I could ever imagine. But I went snorkeling for the first time in Panama this year and found it was so easy. So maybe scuba is next?

  13. Dogs N Pawz says:

    I like James Bond too and I’m going to Vegas right after Christmas with my daughter. I’m so looking forward to it! Love the pictures and it is so cool to see the people behind the blogs!

  14. tarynft says:

    Really great post! No one is going to beat that first photo. It’s so gorgeous it doesn’t look real. All your photos were perfect for this blog hop!

    LOL! I had to look up who Jay Ingram was…never heard of him….then when I did, it made sense why 🙂

  15. Wow, you’re good at selfies. Of course, it helps that you are young and beautiful! Seems we have much in common – love your new scarf, I’m a total introvert, I cook but am not great at it but enjoy baking. However… have to draw the line at Roger Moore. I’m a Daniel Craig es numero uno girl all the way! 🙂 (I can’t tell you how many times I rewind the scene where he walks up out of the surf in those tight swim shorts! Luckily the hubs doesn’t mind!)

    • thatjenk says:

      LOL! Craig nearly won me over with Skyfall – it was so good! Best Bond movie in a decades. But he’s got 4 more movies to go to be in the Moore/Connery league.

  16. dollythedoxie says:

    Nice to meet you! We didn’t know about this blog hop which is kinda good because Mom likes being anonymous! Love Dolly

  17. Leslie says:

    I’m so glad you decided to participate! As a fellow introvert, I understand it can be difficult putting yourself out there but as long as I don’t actually have to speak to people, I’m good. 😉

    I love that one of the things I’ve learned through this hop is that there are so many different personalities and backgrounds among us and yet we are all bound by our love of animals (and maybe our love of food. 😉 It is a remarkable community.

  18. FleaByte says:

    I love your photos! You’re beautiful! And as much as I love fantasy, my bestie will have none of that. Any book with a map and names that are made up isn’t worth reading, for her. 🙂

    I adore your dogs. Thanks for playing, today!

  19. Jan K says:

    So nice to meet you, Jen, and great photos! I love the one of you and your girlfriends in Vegas. There is nothing more fun than getting together with the girls! We had a dog named Moses also, so I’m quite partial to that name. I know this is supposed to be about you, but your dogs are gorgeous also!!

  20. Very nice to meet you! I too am not so creative when it comes to making up dinner recipes… but I do enjoy trying new recipes! Thanks for visiting today!

  21. I am so glad that you joined the hop and that I got to know more about you…and see some photos of you, not that I don’t love to see photos of Moses and Alma but now I have a recent face to put with the person who walks them and talks to people who stop and chat 😉 I love all the pictures that you shared…for some reason I thought you had dark brown hair….I love the red! Love the girls night out picture! How fun!

  22. Nice to meet you Jen. I love your newfies! In my old neighborhood, there was a family that had a pair and I used to see them all the time. Sometimes we’d stop and chat when I was out with my two mutts. I so totally understand how having two spectacular dogs would be a little hard for an introvert, but I’m so glad you came out from behind your camera and said hi!

  23. What fun to see all your photographs, some friends and the photograph of you in the hat with snow on it, adorable.

  24. Nice to learn more about you Jen. I recently had my first SCUBA experience – an introduction. In a pool. I didn’t like it. I have a fear of water. Usually a pool feels totally safe for me but the combo of wearing a bunch of gear, having to breathe artificially and leaky goggles gave me a ton of anxiety. I stuck with it for 30 minutes but when I finally said “enough” and surfaced, I almost cried. I’ll leave that hobby to people like you, thanks 🙂

  25. Maggie says:

    It’s so very nice to meet you, Jen! Beautiful pics! I’m super introverted myself, so I totally get you. Posting a selfie was a challenge for me! I’m actually ashamed to admit that I’ve never read Persuasion, but you’ve convinced me to put it on my to-read list!

  26. veryvizsla says:

    How cool is it that you got to meet Jay Ingram?! I am very jellus!

    • thatjenk says:

      Yeah – just saw him on my lunch break one day! I started to geek out and my coworker was all WTF. If Commander Hadfield had been there too, my head might’ve exploded. But he wasn’t in town until the next day.

  27. Julie says:

    I’ve always LOVED your photos and I love the ones with you in them even more! Thanks for participating – so great to learn more about you 🙂

  28. Hi and great getting to know you! LOVE your photos…Vegas sounds like an awesome way to celebrate turning 30 with all your girls!

  29. Love the pictures. Now that you shared the picture – I wish I were into diving. It seems like something that would be so much fun.

  30. I was SO EXCITED to see your comment on my blog– I’ve been kind of out of the loop, not blogging much, not reading at all, but this gave me the chance to catch up with people!

    You are absolutely stunning, and I think it’s awesome that you and your friends spend your 30th in Vegas! Life is for celebrating– take any excuse!

  31. At least YOU got recognized. LOL, we were out at the park and a woman RAN over, threw herself to ground and was like “OMG IS THAT KOL?” It was surreal. I would make a terrible rock star because I found the whole experience more than a little unnerving. Diving looks so glamorous, though where on earth do you dive locally?! I’m just realizing that there is so much I don’t know about Calgary! I’m a bad Canadian. I adore your glasses though, so there’s that.

  32. Kurome says:

    Love all the pictures!! you look so beautiful

  33. Pingback: Pet Blogger Challenge 2014 | Back Alley Soapbox

  34. Abby says:

    Nice to meet you! Looking forward to continuing to read along with your blog in 2014!

  35. Kuruk says:

    Nice to meet you! Woooooowoooooooo! Ku

Leave a comment