Monday Mischief 22: Good Morning!

The alarm hasn’t gone off, so it’s not time to get up quite yet.

At least, not according to me.

But I can hear it. And feel it. Panting. Hot breath.

Sure, it could be a serial killer like in a movie, but I know it’s not.

I open one eye.

IMG_7181

Good morning, Moses!

"Just checking to see if you're awake yet."

“Just checking to see if you’re awake yet.”

Alma’s definitely not left out of this routine.

Moses and Alma wake-up call

Moses and Alma wake-up call

Even Crosby, who stayed with us for a couple of weeks but went home this weekend, checks in.

Crosby

Crosby

"No, no, just get up on your own time. I'll be here when you're ready."

“No, no, just get up on your own time. I’ll be here when you’re ready.”

Though, this weekend Moses and Crosby eventually decided to start the day without me.

Mo vs Crosby

What do you wake up to?

This post is part of the Mischief Monday blog hop – to see what everyone else has been up to, visit Snoopy’s Dog Blog here, My Brown Newfies here, or Alfie’s Blog here.

monday-mischief

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

24 Responses to Monday Mischief 22: Good Morning!

  1. Cascadian Nomads says:

    Wow! Bitey-face before breakfast? Oh, wait. that happens here everyday. The dogs sleep in their crates so they are limited to loud, dramatic yawning and head/collar shaking to stir the humans. I think they tell Amelia to paw at my face as a part of the team. And if I really sleep in, I hear “Hello Big Birdie” from the other room…

  2. Those are awesome photos. I wake up to Roxy stretching beside me, then Torrey hears that so she appears at the side of the bed. Then whining. LOL

  3. I wake up to a very similar albeit yellow face on the edge of the bed. Maggie doesn’t often come that far into the bedroom – still too scary for her, but as soon as I stir, Jack is there waiting…

  4. I wake up to basset Hound kisses and tapping on my arm. It is Bentley’s position that if he is up, I must be up with him. After all, he might need a treat or something. I get the same thing. “Don’t mind me, I’ll just stare and paw you until you want to join me in the day.” Haha! You must wake up with a smile seeing those two faces!

  5. Will and Eko says:

    I thought Eko had a big nose, but you wake up to two billowing furnaces! Too cute.

  6. haha! I wake up to just about the same thing! Sometimes I wake up to numb legs because Leroy is laying on them 🙂

  7. Jessica says:

    Big eyes are willing you to be awake.

    Silas almost never wakes me up. My husband gets up, goes downstairs, gets ready for work (including grinding coffee and running the blender), and leaves, and Silas and I sleep through it all. Somedays Silas doesn’t even get up when I do–I’ll be downstairs for half an hour before he makes an appearance. I assume it’s because he’s not really hungry in the morning, which seems to be what motivates most dogs to wake their owners up.

  8. Jodi says:

    Typically I wake up to the alarm. But due to present sleeping arrangements, one never knows what they might wake up to.

  9. terra toby says:

    Yes it’s the same routine here. I pretend I’m asleep until my husband gets up. But when he travels I have to give in!

  10. harrispen says:

    We don’t have to set an alarm clock any more due to retirement but Walter makes sure we get up no later than 8am every morning. I would love to see a study done on how the heck their internal clocks are so precise.

    Cindy

  11. Nice wake up call! Usually I have to wake Sadie up. She won’t get off the bed until I leave the room and then she has to follow me to see what I’m doing.

  12. Hi there guys, just wanted to let you know we are passing an award onto you tomorrow, so come on by our blog to pick it up!
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  13. I love waking up to noses!

    –Woofs (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

  14. Cute wake up call! Crosby is a ham and your two are very beautiful. I wake up to Gamblers feet in my face.

  15. Sue says:

    Though they very rarely wake me, when my eyes open I’m looking at 3 dear furry faces 🙂

  16. This is exactly how I wake up every day too! Best alarm clock you can have!

  17. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL I can only imagine your mornings with such large dogs. Storm has taken to leaping on the bed. Almost 7 and I guess she just figured out this is one way to wake humans up. What is funny is that our bed is one of those rice carved beds and is super high. She leaps like a gazelle!

  18. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Haha

    Great wake up call guys! 🙂

    My Mum wakes up to me rattling the blinds if I’m awake before her, or me yawning really loudly! Tee Hee

    Hope you’re having a fun day

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  19. Hahahaha. Moses and Alma have a much more charming wake up ritual. Honey runs downstairs and barks at us when she wants us to get up. 🙂

  20. Donna O. says:

    That is so adorable. Love how Crosby just joined in with the morning routine, and the photos of them playing are great too.

  21. That is such an adorable photo of Crosby… although I think I would get nervous if I see a dog bite a bigger dog’s upper lip D:… Moses and Alma… so darn cute with their heads resting on the bed like that. Looks like their just waiting quietly for you get up 😉

  22. Cute pics! As you see on Pooch Smooches today, WE have to get the DOG up! Crazy.

  23. Marcie says:

    Aww, such great pictures of your ‘wake up call’! 🙂

  24. Clowie says:

    I don’t bother them before they get up in the morning, unless I really need to, but one of the cats gets impatient and taps on their door.

Leave a comment