Throwback Thursday: The Bloodhound

Before I begin, I’d just like to mention that Moses has his two week vet follow up tomorrow after his tooth extraction, and I’m happy to report he’s been healing well and doesn’t seem to miss his tooth. The weather has cooled back down to below-seasonal, so as far as he’s concerned, everything’s coming up Moses!

Moses

Moses

Sunday, the Husband and I found ourselves travelling north to Edmonton for what wasn’t really a typical funeral (not depressing or formal enough), but I wouldn’t really call it a wake either (not drunken enough), but one of those family gatherings that finds relatives getting together to honour and remember a loved once since passed.

The Husband’s grandfather had passed away, losing a prolonged battle with one of those awful afflictions that steals your mind long before your body follows.

The event was informal and it gave the family the opportunity to share memories and tell stories and catch up with one another. We got to hear about how even though his name was Norris, he was hardly even known by that; as a young man he took a job as a cook on a train and the head chef kept mixing up him and his coworker Norman. So, one day, frustrated with the confusion, the chef looked at him and said “from now on, you’re Larry.” And it stuck. For the rest of his life.

I even learned for the first time that my bother-in-law was named after none other than Tom Selleck. How awesome is that?!

Hard to find a cooler namesake, no?

Hard to find a cooler namesake, no?

In the hall, there was a long table with photo albums and other remembrances.

Like most people (I assume), I could study old photographs for hours, even if I don’t know anyone in them. The scenery, the fashions, those moments deemed important enough to capture long before I had the ability to shoot literally thousands of digital photos and only share the best. Fascinating.

Very common in the family photos on Sunday were pictures of dogs – either hanging out in the background with everyone else or prominently featured in portraits of their own. It was very clear that the Husband comes from a long line of dog people.

Prominently featured was this photo:

Emblem of Edgerbrook

Larry and the Emblem of Edgerbrook

This is a picture of the Husband’s grandfather, Larry, and a bloodhound. The dog was registered as the Emblem of Edgerbrook and together with his sister, Larry trained it as a tracking dog.

Once trained, as the story goes, they sold the dog to the police.

From there, the dog went on to a great law-enforcement career, even being instrumental in finding a missing child. As luck would have it, a picture of that very discovery went on to win a news photography award.

IMG_4138

Such a cool story! (Shared with the Husband’s permission, of course.)

Here’s hoping that kid has since grown up to have a long and happy life – all thanks to Larry and his love of dogs.

This post is part of the Thursday Barks & Bytes Blog Hop, hosted by 2 Brown Dawgs and Heart Like a Dog. Go pay a visit to the hosts and check out other hop participants.

Barks&Bytes

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

12 Responses to Throwback Thursday: The Bloodhound

  1. Abby says:

    Very cool! I love knowing that one’s ancestors also loved dogs. One of my most treasured photos is of my Dutch great-great grandmother, standing in her front yard, grinning, while patting the head of the two dogs next to her. Dog love certainly runs strong in my family! The photos of the bloodhound are so neat! I also love that they had the lost baby wait a minute and pose so they could get a good shot of him and the hound. 😉

  2. Jodi says:

    I love that, “Everything’s coming up Moses” LOL

    Thanks for joining the blog hop, I love studying old photos too and those are some pretty cool stories you shared! I used to have a tendency to give people names I thought suited them. LOL I have outgrown that though.

  3. Wow – that is a gorgeous sunset!

  4. 2browndawgs says:

    That is a fabulous story about the bloodhound. Since you know its name, I bet you could find out a lot about it. Condolences to you and your family on the passing of your husband’s grandfather. I like the idea of sitting around and visiting and celebrating a person’s life. In our family, that is the tradition for a couple of days before the funeral. Usually there are pictures made into a slide show or put up on a board. I am like you and find myself drawn to them. Thanks so much for joining Barks and Bytes this week. 🙂

  5. That is an amazing story and how nice that you got to learn so much family history.
    I’m sorry for your family’s loss.

    Glad to hear that Moses is doing good!

  6. Whoa! Cool story! And love that first photo of Moses in the sunset (?!? sunrise?!?). The colors are amazing!

  7. Hawk aka BrownDog says:

    Hi Y’all!

    What a wonderful story! We have a friend who had an old bloodhound. It was the neatest dog. He was one of several hounds they had for hunting.

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  8. Sorry for your loss. That’s a lovely story about your DH’s grandfather. And a great photo of Moses!

  9. What a great story. I love looking through old photographs. My grandfather was a photographer so I am lucky to have access to many wonderful photos from bygone years. I love the Bloodhound and child story. The Encyclopedia Britannica Prize is so cool!

  10. Cool story – love tracing my roots back like that and hearing the stories.

  11. Jessica says:

    I’m sorry for your loss, but I’m glad you got to revisit these great family stories.

    I’m glad Moses likes the cold. Somebody needs to.

  12. Donna O. says:

    It’s nice that you were able to take something pleasant away from the gathering. Funerals, wakes, and the like always leave me feeling down.

    What a great story about the bloodhound…thanks for sharing it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

