Wordless Wednesday 20: Goldstream Provincial Park, BC

This Sunday I shared some pictures from our recent road trip west to Vancouver Island, BC, and our afternoon hike in Goldstream Provincial Park.

And without (m)any further words, here are some more photos from our short hike in the park.

Gotta love those west coast forests.

Gotta love those west coast forests.

Alma and the water fall

Alma and the waterfall

Moses & Alma

Moses & Alma

Apparently they call this Niagara Falls. Don't get me wrong... it's nice... but...

Apparently they call this Niagara Falls. Don’t get me wrong… it’s nice… but…

Alma

Alma

So patriotic.

So patriotic.

Moses

Moses

Hiking Newfs

Hiking Newfs

Soggy Newfs

Soggy Newfs

To see the rest of Wordless Wednesday, click here.

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

27 Responses to Wordless Wednesday 20: Goldstream Provincial Park, BC

  1. cascadiannomads says:

    So GREEN! Just beautiful.

  2. Gorgeous photos beyond words! Love the green against their black fur. You definitely should frame these. WOOF!

  3. Beautiful! Reminds us of being in HANA when we lived in HI last year. Happy BlogPaws WW. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  4. Jen says:

    Lots of perfect pictures!

  5. slimdoggy says:

    Beautiful shots – the green of that moss is really something and your guys provide great contrast.

  6. I just love all the soft green colors in here and the waterfall and Moses and Alma are just gorgeous!

  7. Miley says:

    Beautiful shots!!! Happy WW!

  8. Marcie says:

    Great pictures! Love the greenery and the waterfalls.

  9. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    So much greenery, beautiful! 🙂

    Glad you’re having fun

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  10. harrispen says:

    Such a lush beautiful landscape. The newfs are very cute too 😉

    Cindy

  11. Carol Bryant says:

    Stunning photos! Happy Wordless Wednesday from the BlogPaws Blog Hop!

  12. So beautiful! And Moses and Alma are the perfect accents. 🙂

  13. Great pictures. Funny about the “Niagra” thing. really?? Love the patriotic shot.

  14. 2browndawgs says:

    Beautiful pictures. Beautiful place. Beautiful doggies!

  15. That is a gorgeous park. Wish we had something like that close by.

  16. Lovely park! Moses and Alma look like guardians of the waterfall having fun 😀

  17. tim says:

    We have seen a lot of water here, but we call them washouts and flooded roads!! Desert southwest not this week! Great pictures! I love the green!!

  18. suemuir says:

    Wonderful photos and such well trained models! I’m envious of your scenery and models. I have to take what I’m given in the way of where my dogs stand, lol!

  19. I’ve never been further west than Kansas. This is gorgeous!

  20. FleaByte says:

    Holy moley! What gorgeous photos!

  21. tylersat99 says:

    Beautiful pictures, I love nature and waterfalls and of course Newfs. Moses and Alma go perfectly with the pictures 🙂

  22. Clowie says:

    It’s really beautiful! It’s no Niagara though!

  23. Hi There!

    must say, those are lovely dogs you have, and I’m truly glad you enjoyed your visit to the park!

    Just wanted to let you know for your next visit to the park, Goldstream Provincial Park is an on-leash provincial park 🙂 There are a couple of logical reasons for this! I`m not just a kill joy I swear!

    The park is currently undergoing a long term restoration program in all of the off-trail areas, our feet and paws may squash some of the creatures and plants that are at risk. No one wants to do that!

    Another reason why it`s on-leash is that our 4 pawed friends have SMELLY FEET! This I never even thought of until I started working at the park as an interpreter. The smell of paws is foreign, and may be confusing or even frightening for the creatures in the park. This is especially important during salmon run, as salmon use their sense of smell as one of the amazing ways they navigate home!

    And last but not least, for the safety of you dogs! Your dogs might not be the cause of a problem, but other dogs may cause a problem for your dogs! Best just to keep them close 🙂

    Thanks for understanding!! I agree, those shots need to be framed! 🙂

    • thatjenk says:

      Hi – thanks for the comment on this very old post.
      You’re not the first – nor will likely be the last – person to take exception to my photos of my dogs in sit-stays and stand-stays in on-leash areas.
      I get it.
      I know the rules and why they’re there and setting up these photos knowingly breaks them. I can’t say much more than I have already on the subject (see here for more: https://backalleysoapbox.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/big-fat-hypocrite/).
      I can assure you that while hiking and moving about the park, the dogs are on-leash. I break the rules for the photo ops and my dogs (as I can only speak for mine) remain under control.
      I acknowledge there are many thoughtless dog owners out there, but we try to be the good guys.

Leave a Reply

