Monday Mischief 6: Kananaskis Hike

With only a few summer weekends left, we had to make the most of it and head to the mountains for a day hike.

Alma and the view from old Pigeon Lookout, down into the Kananaskis Valley

We decided to hike up McConnell Ridge to the Barrier Lake lookout.

Our GPS stats: a 14km round trip (taking Jewel Pass out), and a 1,700 foot elevation gain.

Moses had to sit this one out, but Dion, our houseguest for the weekend, came with us

Came across a little waterfall

And then stopped for some swimming in the lake on the way back.

Seriously – throw it!

A joint effort bringing back the stick

Hmm… I wonder how big the stick has to be before Dion won’t retrieve it….

No problem.

Alma offers moral support

Eventually it was time to shake off and resume heading back

Looking back on the lake and the ridge we hiked up earlier – great way to spend a day!

To see what everyone else was up to this weekend, check out the Monday Mischief blog hop!

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

16 Responses to Monday Mischief 6: Kananaskis Hike

  1. Wow!! That sure is a big stick buddy!! I don’t think I could have managed it!! 🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  2. Jen says:

    What a wonderful way to spend the day! I love that picture of Dion and Alma at the top of the waterfall! and I laughed out loud with that huge stick that Dion was bringing in and Alma looking on in amazement!

  3. barb19 says:

    Your photos are fantastic – what a gorgeous place to spend a day. Dion and Alma enjoyed their swim, and I love how they both held onto the same stick to bring it back to you – just beautiful!

  4. Jen says:

    Wow, that waterfall is beautiful (and, y’know, the dogs too!)

  5. bichonpawz says:

    Your pictures are awesome!!! I miss my newf something terrible!! I am going to add you to my blogroll…just me and my two bichons! LOVE the pics of that giant stick!!! xoxo Jeanne,Chloe and LadyBug

  6. Jana Rade says:

    What a beautiful place! Wish we were there!

  7. What a gorgeous place to spend the day hiking! I love all the photos, but especially of Alma and Guest sitting up at the top of opposite sides of the fall. 🙂

  8. FleaByte says:

    It looks like they found the Loch Ness Monster!

  9. SassyThePup says:

    Oh it takes my breath away to see such beautiful scenery. Wonderful photos. I want to hike there, too!

  10. After looking at those photos – I feel 10 degrees cooler! Those sticks were humongous!!! Gosh – way to aim high!

  11. Colby says:

    WOW! Those were some beautiful pictures. How did you do the one with the waterfall? You must have had a helper with you. By the way, that was a ginormous stick to bring in. How did you get Dion to retrieve that thing?

  12. Bassetmomma says:

    What a beautiful place for a hike! Your pictures are just gorgeous! 🙂

  13. Lovely shots.

    BTW, I don’t think that’s a stick Dion had. That’s called a tree. Or at least a sapling. 🙂

  14. What a gorgeous place to hike! We met a dog recently that could match Dion’s tree-retrieval. Pretty amazing.

  15. tylersat99 says:

    What a beautiful place to hike and it looked like two very happy dogs:)

  16. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

