No Respect

It’s been a weird summer for animal encounters.

The approaching coyote was one thing, and even that has been followed with a couple less-interesting sightings and passings-by.

But then I started noticing other weird wildlife anomalies on our dog walks.

I mean, just the other night, Moses, Alma and I are walking along and right next to us in the green space are two little bunnies are frolicking around, playing chase with one another.   In the wide open.  Just a few metres away.

They were pretty cute. [photo: dreamstime.com]

I wasn’t too worried – I figured they’d take off as we got closer.

But I figured wrong.

They carried on their merry way, pausing only to briefly look at us.  Moses looked up at me, either to ask if he could play too or wondering wtf was up with them – I couldn’t tell which.

I considered this was perhaps a crop of highly evolved urban bunnies, recognizing on-leash domestic dogs as non-threatening.  Either that or they’re the not-so-smart bunnies and natural selection will do them in eventually.

However, on subsequent walks I noticed an emerging trend – the rabbits don’t scatter like they used to.  They may perk up and meander out of the way to clear the side walk, but there is no hurried evacuation of days past.

Alma – camouflaged

Then tonight we passed a random neighbourhood cat on the road.

And instead of deferring to the dogs-chase-cats default response, said cat sat down, maintained his ground, and looked on with tired indifference as we passed.

Add this to the magpies that torment Moses and Alma in the back yard, and I would like to know: wtf is up, Mother Nature?!

Seriously.

There is a hierarchy. A food chain. And it ought to be respected.

Moses and Alma are canines.  Big canines.  Like 180lbs, in Mo’s case.

They are carnivorous predators.

Eaters of raw flesh and bone.

Moses – he’s vicious

Those lower on the food chain – those scavengers and animals of prey – should be trembling in fear as Moses and Alma approach, scrambling for safety and cover.

Or… at least can’t they pretend?  I mean c’mon.  For the sake of decorum?  And tradition?

No respect, I tell ya.

Mo & Al

Perhaps this guy said it best:

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

12 Responses to No Respect

  1. Jen says:

    LOL! Jen I was thinking almost the same damn thing the other night! We are encountering wildlife like we never have on our walks! First we have the groundhog, who we see on almost every walk. He just stands up and stares at us when we walk by and then at the very last second he runs-totally teasing the Newfs. The other day he ran 5 feet in front of across the sidewalk!
    Then there are the deer, these darn things just stand 10 feet away and stare too! I had to turn around the other night on our walk because there was 3 deer standing in our neighbor’s front yard, they saw us and they didn’t give one hoot that we were there!

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    Something in the water? Or maybe they just know those well trained doggies can go no where on lead. lol We have bold squirrels around here. But brown dawgs will chase them in the yard. I think they have all made a game of it.

  3. Emily says:

    We’ve run into the same thing here, bunnies don’t move, cats look at us like we are crazy, squirrels still run though. I swear it’s because they know the dogs are on a leash… it’s strange though!

  4. LOL – I have to tell you – it’s the dogs. I know this because I have seen it in action.

    When my Beau was young and nimble, we had no rabbits or deer or other critters molesting our garden. Not that he would have known what to do with something if he caught it but his young and virile presence seemed to hold all comers at bay. As he aged, though, and lost his hearing and his eyesight weakened and his pace slowed, we could walk by rabbits in our yard and they paid him no nevermind.

    Now that we have young miss Bella in our household, the bunnies have disappeared again. Every now and then we catch one nibbling in the yard but Bella’s considerable protest to their presence makes them hightail it out of there. :] Of note, Beau was never leashed – Bella always is. Hmmmm….

    I worry though for sub/urban animals that get too comfortable with our presence.

    • thatjenk says:

      lol! It’s an interesting theory, but really only Moses is the invalid. Alma is a spry youngster – but they are both always on leash when walking around our neighbourhood, too.

  5. Thanks for sharing via BlogPaws’ Blog Hop! =^..^=

  6. Don’t worry. It’s only the end of the world. 🙂

    BTW, love Rodney.

  7. Kristine says:

    Huh. And yet I see almost no wildlife at all. Other than a few raccoons and one deer, the only wild animals I see are squirrels and they tend just to heckle us from the trees. Maybe I’d rather avoid a coyote encounter but a few bunnies every once in a while would be nice. Am I just animal repellent?

  8. Maybe the bunnies and cat watched the Coyote incident, and figured your on their side?

  9. Prudence says:

    BOL! We have the same question when it comes to the feral kitties that come in our yard…. No fear at all when they see me *shaking head*.

  10. They carried on their merry way, pausing only to briefly look at us. Moses looked up at me, either to ask if he could play too or wondering wtf was up with them – I couldn’t tell which.

  11. First of all, hooray for bunnies! Second of all, if I had Desmond on these same walks you describe, I’d be getting dragged all over the place. He can’t resist any living thing. You’ve got some very well-behaved pups!

Leave a Reply

