Comparisons

Remember not so long ago when I shared this video of Alma and Moses and how they each make use of off-leash time?

To me, the video is a great illustration of one of the big differences between Moses and Alma.

Sure, they have a lot in common: they’re both black Newfoundlands, they’re both respectful of the cats, they both are happy to just sleep at our feet when we’re at home, and together they create a symphony of snores.

But they are pretty different, too (in more than just size), and I think the video shows a good example of how Alma really capitalizes on a good energy burst.  When Moses discovers the effort it would require to play chase with Alma, he lets inertia take over and has a seat, while she gallops around like a lunatic in the background.

Now, that’s not to say they don’t play; they often do.  But Moses has never been one to entertain a game of chase for more than a few strides – the games can come to him.

Similarly, I recently took this photo which I also think illustrates what the two of them do and do not have in common with one another:

Moses and Alma

If I had to get all sentimental and pick adjectives that generalise each of them, I’d describe Moses as calm and pensive and Alma as inquisitive and merry.

But then I looked a bit closer at that picture and noticed another major difference:  Moses is filthy!

Seriously.  Especially compared to Alma, whose shorter coat and smaller jowls keep regular grooming much easier to stay on top of.

Alma and some grubby dog who couldn't possibly be Moses.

How on earth did I not notice that before?  It really took a more objective – and shocked – examination of a photo of my own dog to realise he looked like some neglected homeless mutt.

Well, someone* sure has been neglecting grooming duties.  And in spring of all seasons!  For shame!

So out came the rake, comb, and pin brush, as well as the spray-in conditioner (a must!), and after some quality grooming time, Moses is once again ready for public appearances.

Much better!

At least until the next time he goes outside.  Or eats.  Or drools.

And there it is.

Well, at least I tried.

 

*It’s me.  I admit it.

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

9 Responses to Comparisons

  1. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey, look at you now Moses!! You look ready to get up to some Mischief and mess up your coat again – Tee Hee!!

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  2. LOL – poor Moses. He may be a bit of slob but he looks to be loving life. 🙂

    How did I miss that video? I adore it! What a crazy woman Alma is and you’re absolutely right, Moses has less than little interest in chasing her around the park.

    PS – Love the music – thanks for the tip. 🙂

  3. Ha-ha! I hear you loud and clear on this! Leroy has a coat just like Alma, another reason why they are so ridiculously similar, and he his coat almost always looks nice and clean. Then there’s Sherman, whose coat is so thick and he drools so much that he just looks a mess!
    I can groom Leroy for 20 minutes and he is fine, Sherman could be up on the grooming table for over an hour and I still want to keep going!

  4. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL I can see keeping up on that grooming is a full time job. They are both beautiful in their own way.

  5. lexy3587 says:

    I love his jowls… he looks like a cartoon character with his floppy cheeks 🙂
    My neighbour has a newf and a bermese, so I have some small view of just how much effort it would be to keep your guys clean and groomed, and keep your house from being overrun with average-sized-dogs made entirely of newfie fur 😛

  6. Kristine says:

    Every dog is an individual, and the differences between Moses and Alma really show that. We often tend to assume that because a dog is a Newfoundland that means he loves the water and drools a lot – among other things. But I am willing to bet there are Newfs out there who hate to swim and who keep that saliva in their mouths. At least, one can dream when it comes to the latter!

    Both of your dogs are gorgeous, I think. The dirt just adds to his charm. 🙂

  7. Come out this way and give Our Best Friend a bath!

  8. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

