I Love My Vet!

Remember last week when I wrote this post that had some not-so-subtle undertones of frustration and anger?

Well my tune has changed!

And there is a very good reason my favourite vet is my favourite.

Now, I know I mentioned I have a veritable team of veterinary experts for the care of our furry ones, but within that team, I do have a couple MVPs.  One, of course, is Moses’ surgeon.  And the other is more of a ‘regular practitioner’, if I had to put a label on his practice, but I’ll just call him The Best.

We’ve gone to The Best for more of your regular-type veterinary needs: spayed Emma, neutered Moses.  He gave us free post-op check-ups and took care of Moses’ staples at no charge after he bloated in Vancouver.  He’s no-nonsense and good humoured, and doesn’t baby talk to me or my dogs.  And to top it off, I overhead him recommend another client check out Tail Blazers for nutrition advice and good quality foods for their dogs; that alone is commendable!

So why didn’t I start there first when I needed veterinary advice?

Good question.

Alma was a little over-enthusiastic tackling an elk antler, and she’d pushed a tooth out of alignment – a lower incisor.

When she did it, it was immediately clear something was wrong because she was visibly bothered by some sort of ailment, pouting and playing Adele’s Someone Like You on repeat.

After giving her a thorough inspection and eliminating any wounds, broken bones, or digestive issues, I pried open her mouth and could easily see the tooth was pushed forward and no longer nicely in line with its neighbours, and the gums around it were quite red and swollen.  She’d still eat, but had no interest in chewing on or playing with toys.

She was clearly in pain, so I wanted to take her into the vet sooner than later.  And that is the problem with The Best – I’m not the only who thinks he’s great, and the office is always busy.

So I made a call to a vet office close to home who could get us in the next day.  We’re no strangers to them, either, as members of the ‘team’ who let us pop in just to use the scale or get up-to-date on rabies vaccines.

Of course, by the next morning Alma’s bubbly personality had reappeared, but the gums were still a bit red and swollen and I figured it would be best to get it checked out anyway.

One consultation later and I’m walking out with a tentative appointment, quote upwards of $800, and no confidence.

Second opinion time!

I booked us an appointment with The Best and called around to just talk general numbers with some other clinics.

By the time our appointment came around last night, Alma was back to nearly normal: the tooth was still misaligned, but the gums were no longer swollen and she was back to tackling that antler.

The diagnosis?  Her overall dental health is great and yep, she gave herself malocclusion (misaligned tooth), but no medical intervention is necessary and it will heal up just fine if we lay off the antlers for the next while.  We’ll go back in a couple of months for a follow-up just to make sure all is still well.

And there you have it.  I just saved a lot of money and The Best is even better in my books!

Even more importantly, Alma’s going to be just fine and we’re not putting her through any unnecessary procedures.

This is all quite timely considering February is Pet Dental Health Month.

Now that Alma's got a clean bill of health, time to give your pup's pearly whites a check. And when in doubt, always get a second (or third) opinion! Maybe you'll even find some Dental Health Month promotional pricing.

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

11 Responses to I Love My Vet!

  1. 2browndawgs says:

    Oh wow. Glad you saved the money and have The Beat vet. We used to go to a vet that we felt over charged and over treated. That was with our Golden, pre-Chessies. He never discussed the cost/benefit of a procedure and if I called with a question, I always had to bring the dog in and it was usually expensive for even the simplest ailment. Then when our Golden was old and in renal failure, there was never any suggestion of a different food or supplements to try to extend his life. Now I know better and we could have made changes to his diet. Needless to say, we changed vets.

    • lauren says:

      one of my favorite things about our vet is that she’s on Pet Portal, they will talk to you via email, and you can call then with insane questions at any time. and when i call with insane questions, they often try to encourage me to not rush over with desmond like the over-protective & paranoid dog mom that i am. our vet even worked out a plan with us to bring desmond in just once for his yearly shots, even though three of them were due in january and another bunch weren’t needed until april. we split the difference so we only have to pay for one office visit.

  2. lexy3587 says:

    love that pic of them together at the bottom of the post – looks like they’re getting along well 🙂 glad to hear that Alma is fine, and that your BEST vet is honest about whether a surgery is actually required.
    Gwynn’s scariest mouth-moment was when he split off a piece of a chew bone and got it caught between his top teeth. The first I saw of it was him tearing at his face with his paws, and chomping furiously with nothing in his mouth (that I could see). I pried it out of his mouth, but just about had to put him in a full body lock to avoid having him run away from me. And he bit down a fair bit on my hand, he was freaking out so much, not enough to draw blood, but enough to leave bruises. I check for loose pieces on his bone chews regularly, now.

  3. Kristine says:

    What a huge relief! And what a terrific reminder to get a second opinion. When in doubt, it’s always a good idea to make sure you are not getting screwed over. I am sure Alma is grateful for your forethought and I hope she is back to her destructive self soon.

    Now if only The Best made his office a child-free zone. 😉

  4. Well there you have it! You saved a lot of money! The Best is The Best for a reason!

  5. Hi Guys,

    So happy that Alma’s mouth is feeling a lot better and he’s not going to need surgery!! Maybe take it a little easier on the Antlers buddy? 🙂

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  6. I hope Mom doesn’t see this…she might take my antler away. 😦

    Glad Alma’s doing better. There’s nothing worse than a toothache. Well, almost…..

  7. lauren says:

    so glad that worked out for you and alma!

  8. julesmelfi says:

    Yay! It’s always nice to get good news 🙂

  9. Jen says:

    Now that is great news for you and for Alma!
    It totally pays to get a second opinion when in doubt and I wish more people would do it to give them piece of mind! I would do it for my human kids so why not for our dogs?!:)

  10. Amber says:

    Hi, I stumbled on your blog looking for help as my dog needs dental work. I am looking at 1300-1500 for a broken tooth to be pulled, and I would love to know who you saw about your dog. Please email the vet info, as I am now starting the hunt for decent extraction prices. (there is no choice for me, the tooth has split, so it has to come out) Your help, and time are appreciated. amberd.33@gmail.com (Amber) thank you!

Leave a Reply

