Wordless Wednesday 12: Hiatus

Well, I must apologize to all for the recent silence on the Soapbox, and it looks like there will be more ‘wordless’ to come in the near future.

You, see, at a regular eye exam last week, my optometrist spotted a detached retina in my left eye and it was off for Scleral buckle surgery on Friday morning for me.  Nothing caused it – lucky me, just a congenital condition that can happen when you have strong near-sightedness, as I do.

But since then, and for quite some time yet, I am to avoid reading, watching TV, and computers, which has meant for some very boring time off , and I am briefly violating that for this quick note.

Hope you all are enjoying your holidays!

I will have a lot of blog reading to catch up on when I get back!

Moses and Alma don’t mind having the extra company.

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

7 Responses to Wordless Wednesday 12: Hiatus

  1. Good luck on Friday! Then take it easy, rest up and enjoy the holiday season! *waggy tail*

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    Oh no. That can be serious. Please follow your doctors directions and get well soon. 🙂

  3. Kristine says:

    Yikes, I am so glad you caught the problem before it got worse. When it comes to eyes, one can’t be too careful. I haven’t had an eye exam since I was twelve. Since I don’t need glasses to see, it’s off my radar. Perhaps I should get on that. 😛

    Take care and enjoy the time with your puppies!

  4. barb19 says:

    If you are not allowed to read, or go on the computer, take advantage and catch up on some other stuff around the house – more walks and playtime with Moses and Alma – they will be very happy to the extra time with you!
    Get better soon.

  5. lauren says:

    oh my goodness! please, please be good to yourself and do not worry about us over here on the interweb. we’ll all be thrilled upon your return, for sure, but i can’t imagine anyone would hold it against you for well-deserved break. take care!

  6. Oh wow, now I feel really bad! Hope the surgery went well– and don’t read this comment if you shouldn’t!

  7. Kim Clune says:

    I had to read back this far to learn the reason for your hiatus. I’m so glad you’re on the other side! I can’t even imagine a life without technology. I do hope you’ll share a bit about how you survived! I’d have to spend more time listening to music and audio books, I think. Glad you’re back, even if in small doses!

Leave a Reply

