Wordless Wednesday 6: The Nation’s Capital

Wordless Wednesday: Ottawa edition!

Some of the recent dead space here at the Soapbox can be attributed to a trip to Ottawa I took earlier this month for work.  And while I spent the bulk of the daylight hours in seminars of varying degrees of interest and relevance, I spent the free hours pounding the pavement – because I am that kind of tourist.

“Just Ottawa”?  Sure.  Maybe.  To some.  But I liked it and there is lots to see in the nation’s capital if you’re so inclined and nerdy enough.  So here are some photos.  I’ll see if I can restrain myself and keep it to a minimum.

Parliament Hill – Centre Block

Lots of statues on Parliament Hill

Detail at the main doors of the Centre Block

Knowing PM Harper’s affection for cats, I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised by what appears to be a cat sanctuary on the grounds.

RCMP Memorial

Bell from the original clock tower that was destroyed by fire in 1916.

My favourite part – the Library (opened in 1876).

Detail of Thomas D’Arcy McGee statue – a strong 19th C advocate of Confederation.

Some door on the East Block.

East Block

West Block

Centre Block tours are free! Inside the House of Commons.

The Senate Chamber

Rotunda / Confederation Hall

From the Peace Tower, overlooking the Library, Ottawa River, and into Gatineau, QC

In the Memorial Chamber

For Canadians who died in armed conflict since Confederation.

No Harper action figure?

Centennial Flame – lit by Lester B. Pearson in 1967.

Tulip season.

The Supreme Court

Justice is pretty ominous looking.

Bank of Canada

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

Laura Secord – with not a chocolate in sight.

Locks at the Rideau Canal

Creepiest sculpture ever attacking Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica.

Inside Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica – wow!

I was impressed.

Looking back to the entrance and organs above.

Now it’s headed for the National Gallery! (Note: add the National Gallery to your bucket list; it’s awesome.)

Best shot I could get of ol’ Steve’s house. Not worth the trek.

Okay, that’s all.  And I was trying to be selective.  Really!

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

6 Responses to Wordless Wednesday 6: The Nation’s Capital

  1. We’ve been to Ottawa a lot– those are great pix!

    That spider is SO creepy. The library is my favourite building too, and I always take a million pictures of it. The cat sanctuary long predates Harper, but I suppose with him in charge it’s safe!

    If you give me advance notice next time you go, I’ll meet you for coffee!

    • thatjenk says:

      Definitely! Ottawa is a really nice city and a great place to walk around – I’d be happy to go back. Maybe bring Moses to walk around with me next time.

      I had dinner with friends one night at The Black Tomato – ever been? Highly recommended!

  2. Yay! I love photo-heavy posts. Thanks for sharing. The library is GORGEOUS!

    We’re not sure if we’ll make it thru Ottawa, so if we don’t, I’ll have to refer back to your post. 😀

  3. Pingback: My 7 Links: Blog Introspection « Back Alley Soapbox

  4. Pingback: A Canadian Pilgrimage | Back Alley Soapbox

Leave a Reply

