Ode to Dyson

This is not product placement; this is a love story.

A few months ago, Husband got me a shiny new vacuum cleaner for my birthday.

Not because he’s an insensitive spouse who was subliminally trying to tell me to clean more. No, it was because he is a thoughtful spouse who got me exactly what I wanted.

He got me a Dyson.

And not just any Dyson.  The Dyson DC25 Animal.

Sorry I missed Valentine’s Day, Dyson

And now you may be asking, what’s the big deal? Isn’t it just a vacuum?  No. Not it is not.  The Dyson will change your life.  And for pet owners, the Dyson Animal is a must.

You will never know until you experience yourself the Dyson Ball™ technology, manoeuvring around furniture with ease.  Or how about the Root Cyclone™ technology?  It doesn’t lose suction!  It has cylonic action! The centrifugal forces reach 100,000G! And it’s bagless! With washable filters!

It also came with all sorts of awesome attachments, a couple of which are so amazing I’ve never even used them:

  • Stiff Bristle Brush
  • Combination tool
  • Mini turbine head
  • Stair tool
  • Flat Out™ floor tool

And perhaps the best part is that three months after I registered our Dyson online, I got a cheerful little e-mail from Dyson Canada reminding me it was time to wash my filter in order to keep my machine in tip-top shape.  Which is great, because I wouldn’t remember that otherwise.  And I’m pretty sure I can expect these helpful reminders throughout the duration of my five-year warranty.

For pet owners, a Dyson is a must for getting rid of hair, dust, dander, and all those lovely extras that pets bring into to your home.  The first time I used it, I remember being astonished at how quickly that cylinder filled with dust and particles the old, obsolete vacuum missed; it was equally disgusting and impressive.  And I am pleased to report that in our household it’s just as effective on tile as it is on the carpet, which is a huge deal.

And when Moses starts his seasonal shedding, Dyson is the first place I turn to – it keeps the house clean, and therefore maintains my sanity.  Who says Newfs and neat freaks aren’t compatible?

So that’s it.  I adore my Dyson.  I don’t want to marry it or anything, because that would be excessively weird, but it’s definitely my favourite appliance.

In the pre-Dyson era (P.D.), brushing Moses and wine went hand-in-hand.

About ThatJenK
Writing from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 90% pictures of my dogs; 10% miscellaneous opinions nobody asked for.

13 Responses to Ode to Dyson

  1. Okay, honey, you need to get out more. 🙂

    Just kidding– I’ve been dreaming of a Dyson ever since I began battling Our Best Friend’s tumbleweek furballs. But they are mega-bucks that I just don’t have. 😦 Stuck with the broken-down Hoover for a while longer.

    • thatjenk says:

      lol. You’re not the first person to tell me that!

    • Ann McCann says:

      We got ours reconditioned from a place in Texas. And we were replacing other vacuums about every year and a half… We have three newfs, three long haired cats. The Dyson clutch (who knew vacuums had clutches?) broke after 5 years of every day use – so we found a repair video on youtube and a $39 replacement part on Amazon, and fully expect to get another five years. This Dyson is the cheapest appliance we have!

  2. Duncan says:

    You’re welcome

  3. Kristine says:

    Nice! I am officially insanely jealous. As someone who’s house is covered from ceiling to floor in pet hair and who’s mother-in-law will be visiting within the next two days… I am practically green right now. Life is so unkind.

  4. Hehe…we LOVE our Dyson. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who would write an entire post about their vacuum cleaner. 😀

    Have you seen the new Dyson Groom? It look AH-Mazing!

  5. Kim Clune says:

    Thanks for the great review! It’s still a bit pricey for us at this point so we’re going with a Shark Navigator. I can only hope I love it as much. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Monday Mischief, 3rd edition « Back Alley Soapbox

  7. LOL!! this was awesome. thanks for linking back!

  8. Pingback: Product Review: Bugsy’s Box | Back Alley Soapbox

Leave a Reply

